KRS Website: Drug Information: Addiction & Mental Health

Alberta Health Services

AHS Opioid Use Disorder Consultation Service
A telephone consult service for primary care physicians and prescribers seeking advice regarding OAT
Addiction & Mental Health (Insite)
The Addiction & Mental Health Team within AHS co-ordinates, plans, delivers and evaluates a provincewide network of AHS programs and contracted services. Find out what resources are available using this website.
Addiction & Mental Health Subject Guide KRS

Canada

British Columbia Mental Health & Substance Use Services
Link to the Clinical & Professional Resources page
Canadian Centre on Substance Abuse
The Canadian Centre on Substance Abuse changes lives by bringing people and knowledge together to reduce the harm of alcohol and other drugs on society. Look under the Publications section to find publications produced by CCSA on a variety of substance use- and addiction related topics.
Canadian Network for Mood and Anxiety Treatments (CANMAT)
Access to treatment guidelines and other resources published by CANMAT. Note: An account is required to access these resources but registration is free.
Canadian Paediatric Society
CPS gives links to mental health resources in the pediatric population under the Clinical Practice section, such as: Position Statements & Practice Points by the Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities Committee and Mental Health Screening Tools
Canadian Psychiatric Association
National voluntary professional association for Canada's 4,000 psychiatrists. Website contains clinical resources, including the Canadian Journal of Psychiatry, Clinical Practice Guidelines, Position Papers & Statements, and Books.
Centre for Addiction & Mental Health (CAMH)
Canada's largest teaching hospital and leading research centre for mental health & addictions. Website contains information for professionals related to screening, diagnosing and treating mental health & addictions.
Illicit Medications (RCMP)
A reference tool for identifying illicit drugs and their harmful effects produced in collaboration with the RCMP and other agencies.

United States

Massachusetts General Hospital Center For Women's Mental Health
Provides links to resources for evaluation and treatment of psychiatric disorders associated with female reproductive function including premenstrual dysphoric disorder, pregnancy-associated mood disturbance, postpartum psychiatric illness, peri- and post- menopausal depression.
National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)
NIDAMED's mission is to develop science-based resources for health professionals and those in training about screening, addressing, and treating addiction.
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIH)
Resources for health care professionals for the treatment of alcohol use disorder.

International

Clinical Handbook of Psychotropic Drugs
This is the online version of the popular Clinical Handbook of Psychotropic Drugs (CHPD), a practical resource guide for health care practitioners working in any setting where psychotropic drugs are utilized. Contains chapter on managing benzodiazepine withdrawal under Discontinuation Syndrome
Clinical Handbook of Psychotropic Drugs for Children and Adolescents
NICE Guidance for Psychosis and Schizophrenia in Adults: Prevention & Management
Psychiatry ebook
Psychiatry ebook by S. Pridmore (University of Tasmania)

Other Helpful Resources

Clozapine Registries

Contact the designated clozapine registry for further questions or concerns.
For further questions on complete blood count monitoring, patient-registry status, or technical assistance, contact the designated clozapine registry, and a representative may be able to assist you.

Switching Tools

SwitchRx
Tool providing guidance on switching antidepressants, antipsychotics and hypnotics. Free registration required.

Textbooks

The Maudsley Prescribing Guidelines in Psychiatry, 13th ed. (2018) by Taylor, Barnes & Young
This revised and updated 13th provides up-to-date information, expert guidance on prescribing practice in mental health, including drug choice, treatment of adverse effects and how to augment or switch medications. The text covers a wide range of topics including pharmacological interventions for schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, depression and anxiety, and many other less common conditions.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th ed. (2013) by American Psychiatric Association
This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5®), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health.
Stahl's Essential Psychopharmacology, 5th. ed. (2021) by Stahl
A reliable source of information on disease and drug mechanisms for all mental health professionals seeking to understand and utilize current therapeutics.

Drug Information

Alberta Health Services

Canada

United States

International

Other Helpful Resources

Quick Links

Get in Touch