Seniors' Health & Continuing Care

The field of geriatric rehabilitation is constantly changing due to the discovery of new evidence-based evaluation and treatment strategies, as well as the continual support or refutation of older theories and practices. This book gives physical therapists an evidence-based guide to the clinical aspects of rehabilitative care in older adult patients and clients.

Using the APA Guidelines for Psychological Practice With Older Adults and the Pikes Peak Model for Training in Professional Geropsychology, this book shows mental health providers how to expand their practice in order to treat older adults.

This text empowers current and future assisted living administrators to employ effective practices, understand model programs, and learn the necessary tools and tips to maximize the overall health, safety, and comfort of residents in their care.

This book provides comprehensive information on all aspects of CDI pertaining to LTCF settings, including epidemiology, diagnosis, prevention, management and the unique challenges faced by LTCFs with regards to the CDI problem.

Includes new approaches devoted to supporting LGBTQ elders, persons living with dementia and their families and older adults living with HIV. New operational strategies provide guidance in using the electronic health record, implementing improved person-centered care approaches, and maintaining age-friendly atmospheres.

This comprehensive, practical text covers the evolving field of gerontology, developed for healthcare students and professionals. Written by experts across many health disciplines, this text presents an up-to-date and realistic assessment of the aging process. It begins with a review of demographic trends and continues with an overview of key topics such as the physiology, pathology, pharmacotherapy, nutrition, communication, and social concerns related to caring for older patients. This interprofessional resource concludes with future concerns for an aging society and includes an epilogue encouraging all health care professionals to embrace patient or client advocacy, especially for older adults.

Integrative geriatrics is a new field of medicine that advocates for a whole-person, patient-centered, primarily non-pharmacological approach to medical care of the elderly. Most current geriatric practices over prescribe medications and procedures and underutilize non-pharmacological,low-cost, high-touch methods. Patients, however, often show reluctance towards these standard practices, as the interventions they rely upon are often invasive. The practice of integrative geriatrics is rooted in lifestyle interventions, such as nutrition, movement therapies, and mind-body and spirituality approaches, that allow patients to have different path to their healthcare-one that utilizes pharmaceuticals and invasive procedures only when safer integrative approaches are not available or not effective.

An overview of the assessment and management of the older adult with arthritis and other rheumatological conditions. This book discusses the symptoms of fatigue, pain, mood and the social impact of living with these conditions.

Designed for the undergraduate, the text covers the basics, including the demographics of aging, physiology of aging, and vitamin and mineral requirements for older adults. It then delves into clinical considerations, including the nutritional implications of diseases and conditions common among older adult. Additional coverage includes: nutritional assessment, pharmacology, nutritional support, and much more.

This new edition of the Oxford Handbook in Geriatric Medicine has been expanded and updated to reflect the substantial changes in clinical practice since the previous edition, including the Francis report and the impact on care for the older patient, the National Dementia Strategy and screening, and the evolution of the role of Geriatricians in other specialities. It includes new material on risk scoring management of TIA, and a new chapter on the older surgical patient.

A unique look at health promotion and aging in Canada, this collection uses the action framework in the Ottawa Charter for Health Promotion to explore the factors and issues related to the health of older adults.

Geriatric Rehabilitation addresses the fact that this is an age in which individuals have increasing longevity, better health care, education and expectations of health care which present new, increasing and even radical challenges to health care providers.

This text offers evidence-based coverage of the aging process, factors contributing to healthy aging, and unique aspects of disease presentation and management in older adults.