The significantly revised second edition of this unique practitioner guide features 65% new material and a new organizing structure. The authors show how to use motivational interviewing (MI) to have productive conversations about behavior change with adolescents and young adults in any clinical context. Noted for its clarity, the book includes extended case examples, sample dialogues, quick-reference tables, and "dos and don'ts."
Already a foundational resource in the field, Dulcan's Textbook of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry has been updated in the third edition, including the latest research and clinical advances. An expanded chapter on telehealth acknowledges the changes and challenges posed by the COVID-19 pandemic and also discusses e-mental health options that support primary care providers, who are often the front line in mental health treatment.
The definitive reference in the field--now significantly revised with 75% new material--this volume examines typical and atypical development from birth to the preschool years and identifies what works in helping children and families at risk. Foremost experts explore neurobiological, family, and sociocultural factors in infant mental health, with a major focus on primary caregiving relationships. Risk factors for developmental problems are analyzed, and current information on disorders and disabilities of early childhood is presented. The volume showcases evidence-based approaches to assessment and intervention and describes applications in mental health, primary care, child care, and child welfare settings.
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of this popular point-of-care manual offers practical, authoritative guidance from the American Academy of Pediatrics in the hospital setting for safe, effective inpatient care from initial evaluation through hospital discharge management. Pediatric hospitalists with extensive hands-on expertise offer proven recommendations for dozens of pediatric inpatient problems including anaphylaxis; cardiac conditions; dermatological, ENT and GI issues; infectious diseases; seizure; eye trauma; fractures; physical and sexual abuse, and more.
The handbook is divided into three sections: general adolescent medicine, sexuality, and mental health, and contains relevant, practical knowledge, covering those areas most often seen in the practice of adolescent medicine. The MassGeneral Hospital for Children Adolescent Medicine Handbook, 2nd edition details best practices in regards to diagnostic evaluations and clinical care, but also instructs practitioners on the best methods to connect, communicate, and continue that care with adolescents, in order to provide optimal treatment, and instill healthy lifetime behaviors.
This guide contains up to date information from a wide variety of authors on every aspect of EHDI. Each of the 40 chapters is posted as a separate PDF, allowing the user to read online, download or print any or all of the chapters at will.
However much policy material is produced, the real function of most child psychiatrists is to assess and treat mental disorders in childhood and adolescence. This is a comprehensive update on the field that will inform the clinical practice of all child and adolescent mental health professionals.
Essential Nursing Care for Children and Young People adopts a patient-centred approach, in line with the NMC standards which emphasise a need for nurses to consider patient needs and requirements as a priority.
Concise, readable, and up to date, Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics, 9th Edition, provides the must-know information you need in pediatrics from the name you trust. A readable, full-color format; high-yield, targeted chapters; and thorough content updates ensure strong coverage of core knowledge as well as recent advances in the field. This focused resource is ideal for medical students, pediatric residents, PAs, and nurse practitioners in various educational and practice settings, including pediatric residencies, clerkships, and exams.
The gold standard comprehensive reference in pediatric orthopaedics is a must-have resource for physicians and residents treating infants, children, and adolescents with orthopaedic problems. Lovell and Winter's Pediatric Orthopaedics, 8th Edition, brings you fully up to date in the field with new content, a new editor, and many new contributing authors who cover all aspects of basic science, clinical manifestations, and management.
Congenital anomalies constitute a large group of diverse biochemical, histological, and anatomical defects presenting at birth and caused by a myriad of inherently unrelated etiopathogenic factors. A significant number of cases are idiopathic. With striking variability in clinical manifestation, the outcomes range from inconsequential to lethal, with immense medical, social, emotional, and financial implications.
Prepare to give pediatric patients the specialized care they deserve with the leading text in pediatric nursing. Written by pediatric experts, Wong''s Nursing Care of Infants and Children, 11th Edition takes a unique, easy-to-follow developmental approach to describe the care of children at each age and stage of development. This longtime bestseller provides an evidence-based, clinical perspective that shows how the quality of nursing care can impact quality patient outcomes.
Caring for the Hospitalized Child includes discussions about activities, such as leadership, economics, consent, and management of the inpatient service, and incorporates other facets of patient care beyond laboratory tests and treatments. Comprehensive care for hospitalized children must include attention to systems of care, procedures, and ethics, because no sick child exists in a vacuum, and non-bedside activities can have a profound effect on patient outcomes.
Get comprehensive guidance on treating patients through a dual focus on neonatology and perinatology. Spot genetic problems early and advise parents of concerns, with a completely new section on this topic. Make informed clinical choices for each patient, from diagnosis and treatment selection through post-treatment strategies and management of complications, with new evidence-based criteria throughout.
This manual is a practical guide to the care of children after cardiac surgery. Beginning with discussion on preparing for and receiving a paediatric patient from the operating theatre, the next chapter describes monitoring techniques. Each of the following sections discusses the management of different conditions that may arise after surgery, including mediastinal bleeding, arrhythmias, capillary leak syndrome, pulmonary, gastrointestinal and renal issues, and infection.