This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5®), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health.
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers.
The stress that comes with being a first responder has been known to lead to depression, anxiety, substance abuse, and suicide. However, few clinicians are informed about these health concerns and how to adequately treat them in this population. Therefore, there is an urgent need for practitioners to understand the latest information regarding treatments that will be useful to this specific population.
"Introductory Psychology in Modules: Understanding Our Heads, Hearts, and Hands is a unique and comprehensive textbook that offers an accessible, engaging introduction to the key topics of psychology through thirty-six modules that facilitate more focused, interactive learning..."
Anxiety, depression, and difficulty adjusting to medical conditions are just a few of the factors that can complicate recovery for hospitalized patients. This book describes how health psychologists, working with the medical team as consultants, can help determine the causes of such symptoms and provide appropriate treatment and actionable input for doctors, nurses, psychiatrists, social workers, and others.
This book highlights the work of Canadian counsellors and counselling psychologists and focuses on issues pertinent to practising in Canada. Key topics such as scientific issues, health, wellness, prevention, career psychology, assessment, training and supervision, and social justice and multiculturalism are explored in detail.
Social Neuroscience offers a comprehensive framework for studying the brain, human development, and human behavior. Leading researchers in neurobiology, psychiatry, psychology, and sociology elucidate the connections between brain biology and the brain's functioning in the social world, providing an interdisciplinary explanation of how humans think and act, as well as the ways we define and treat pathological behavior.
Advanced Principles of Counseling and Psychotherapy covers advanced helping-skills topics, including inductive reasoning, Socratic questioning, working with double binds, and creatively creating second-order change. The ultimate expression of these is in the use of paradoxical interventions, including the use of humor.
A complete primer for non-specialists on the psychology of ageing. Beginning with explanations of ageing, life expectancy and demographics, it goes on to discuss the aspects of ageing that have the most impact on people's lives. From changes in intelligence and personality to mental health and sexuality, the author explains the psychology involved and focuses on the points that offer the most practical help to those working with the older populous.
The second edition of "Principles of Counseling and Psychotherapy" offers students and practitioners a way to understand the processes behind effective outcomes with a wide variety of clients. The second edition is infused with real-world clinical case examples and opportunities for readers to apply the material to the cases being presented.
Transformational Chairwork: Using Psychotherapeutic Dialogues in Clinical Practice is a practical handbook for using the Chairwork method effectively with a wide range of clinical problems. Using both internal and external strategies, this book explores how Chairwork dialogues can be a powerful intervention when working with addictions, social oppression, medical issues, and psychosis.
Breaking Barriers in Counseling Men is a unique collection of personal and engaging contributions from nationally recognized scholars and clinicians with expertise in treating men. Featuring a mix of clinical tips, personal anecdotes, and theoretical reframing, this book takes clinicians invested in these issues to the next level, breaking down barriers to connecting with men and getting them the help that is so often needed.
With a variety of case examples and contributions from experienced clinicians, this book introduces Cognitive Analytic Therapy (CAT) in practical, user-friendly language, and for the first time guides readers on how to use it to with people with intellectual disabilities. CAT is increasingly recognised as an effective approach for working with people with intellectual disabilities.
Counselling Skills for Working with Trauma is a practical, introductory guide to counselling survivors of child abuse, neglect, rape, sexual violence, sexual trafficking, religious sexual abuse, and domestic abuse. Written in an accessible style, it provides a comprehensive introduction to complex trauma accompanied by advice on how to create a safe environment in which survivors can learn the skills to restore control over trauma symptoms, to aid healing and post traumatic growth.
The third edition incorporates important advances in the field to provide a reliable and accessible resource for clinical psychologists. Includes general conceptual frameworks for practice and specific guidance on managing problems commonly encountered in clinical work with children and adolescents, drawing on the best practice in the fields of clinical psychology and family therapy.
Techniques of Grief Therapy: Assessment and Intervention includes a variety of specific and practical therapeutic techniques, each conveyed in concrete detail and anchored in an illustrative case study. It also features an entire new section on assessment of various challenges in coping with loss, with inclusion of the actual scales and scoring keys to facilitate their use by practitioners and researchers.
The APA Handbook of Clinical Geropsychology reviews empirical research across a broad range of areas, offering practical approaches for the application of theory to everyday practice with the aging population. Volume 1 addresses the history and status of geropsychology, and perspectives on aging.
Volume 2 of the APA Handbook of Clinical Geropsychology focuses on assessment and treatment of psychological disorders in geriatric populations, and issues of later life such as independence, transitions, and social adjustments.
The Family Therapy Treatment Planner features empirically supported, evidence-based treatment interventions for 40 problems including child/parent conflicts, depression, abuse, death and loss issues, blended family problems, and loss of family cohesion. Over 1,000 prewritten treatment goals, objectives, and interventions.
Keeping pace with the rapid changes that are taking place in the field, Bergin and Garfield's Handbook of Psychotherapy and Behavior Change, Sixth Edition endures as the most important overview of research findings in psychotherapy for professionals, academics, researchers, and students. This bestselling resource presents authoritative thinking on the pressing questions, issues, and controversies in psychotherapy research and practice today.
For the practicing neuropsychologist or researcher, keeping up with the sheer number of newly published or updated tests is a challenge, as is evaluating the utility and psychometric properties of neuropsychological tests in a clinical context.
Self-help materials have become a prime source of psychological advice for millions of Americans. While many self-help resources provide high-quality information, others may be misleading, inaccurate, or even harmful. This indispensable volume reveals which are the good ones, which are the bad ones, and why.