About Us: About Us

About Knowledge Management

KRS is part of AHS’ Knowledge Management department, in the Research, Innovation & Analytics portfolio. Knowledge Management is about making the best use of an organization’s information and knowledge. We help AHS staff to find the right evidence, use it to support decisions, successfully share knowledge, manage clinical projects, and use knowledge management technology.

 

Contact Us

Chat with KRS

Alberta Health Services

Knowledge Resource Service (KRS) supports evidence-informed decision making and quality patient care. We do this by providing staff and healthcare workers with access to, and support in using, evidence resources.

Easy Discovery
and Access

KRS provides AHS staff and physicians with access to many online resources, such as:

  • Point of care resources (e.g. Dynamed Plus, Lippincott Advisor & Procedures)
  • Drug information resources (e.g. RxTx, Lexicomp)
  • Journal article databases (e.g. MEDLINE, CINAHL, PsycINFO)
  • e-Journals (e.g. Lancet, NEJM, CMAJ)
  • Subject guides with curated collections of top quality licensed and public domain resources

Evidence-Informed
Decision Making

We help AHS staff find the evidence they need, through:
 

  • Literature searching for the appropriate resources to help answer your tough questions
  • Access to full text copies of journal articles, through e-resources or by request
  • High quality clinical and consumer health books and A/V materials
  • Access to a multitude of university, college and government library collections
  • Technical and research expertise via phone, email, and online chat
  • Access to medical apps for on-the-go information

Centres of Excellence

Staff, patients and families are welcome in all KRS full-service libraries to consult with KRS staff, access computers and health information, or read in quiet. All library spaces offer:

  • Access to trained information specialists for consultation and help
  • Computer access for patients, families, and AHS staff
  • Books and journals to meet the special needs of their facility and support a provincial collection
  • Quiet space to study and read
  • Comfortable seating for rest and reflection
  • Photocopying and printing services

"Just in Time” Learning

Learn how to understand information and find what you need, on your own time. KRS provides educational materials such as:
 

Covenant Health

We also welcome Covenant Health clients to access knowledge resources and services through this site.  Service requests from Covenant Health clients will be filled by Covenant Health Library Services, who provide quality, knowledge-based information that supports patient care and decision-making at all levels within Covenant Health.  Situated within Covenant Health’s Professional Practice department, Library Services operates two site libraries (Grey Nuns Health Sciences Library, Misericordia Weinlos Library) from which service to all Covenant Health facilities across the province is provided.  For more information on Covenant Health Library Services, please contact CovenantLibrary@CovenantHealth.ca.   

Services for Patients and Families

KRS provides targeted information services for patients and families, both online and at our library sites: