KRS Website: Population, Public & Indigenous Health: Find Articles

Search Tip for Indigenous Health Research

Health Sciences Search Filters
Use these filers designed for the Medline database to help identify and retrieve articles related to Indigenous peoples.

Related Guides

The search box featured above takes you into a powerful search tool. This search allows you to get instant access to articles, eBooks and more. It is a great way to start a search!

Begin by typing in some words that describe your topic or by entering a journal article title.

If you find that you cannot access an article that you are needing, please use the Request an Article form.
Our staff will find and provide AHS and Covenant Health staff any full text articles needed to support practice.

Research Best Bets

MEDLINE (via Ovid) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use Medline (Ovid) to search literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields, biological and physical sciences and humanities as they relate to medicine and health care.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use CINAHL to search a wide array of journals and book chapters in nursing and allied health topics AND access evidence-based care sheets and CE modules.

Database of promoting health effectiveness reviews (DoPHER)
Focussed coverage of systematic and non-systematic reviews of effectiveness in health promotion and public health worldwide. This register currently contains details of over 3,700 reviews of health promotion and public health effectiveness.
Health Evidence
Search healthevidence.org for access to 4,133 quality-rated systematic reviews evaluating the effectiveness of public health interventions. We search the published literature and compile public health relevant reviews -- eliminating your need to search and screen individual databases.
Indigenous Studies Portal
University of Saskatchewan. Full-text electronic resources relating to a number of Indigenous health topics.
Native Health Database
University of New Mexico. Provides Abstracts for health-related resources pertaining to the health and health care of North American Indigenous peoples.
Public Health +
Critically appraised articles from medical and allied health journals. From the National Collaborating Centre for Methods and Tools.

Looking for the best evidence?

Our point of care resources synthesize all the best and latest evidence on clinical topics and are updated frequently. They are a quick and easy way to find information to support evidence-informed decisions.
Learn More or search below:

We have many more places to continue your research and find articles to support your practice!

View all our Research Databases

Population, Public & Indigenous Health

Search Tip for Indigenous Health Research

Research Best Bets

Looking for the best evidence?

Quick Links

Get in Touch