Provides a road map for training and renewing chaplains across a professional continuum that includes hospitals, prisons, universities, the military and nursing homes. This book identifies three central competencies – individual, organizational and meaning-making—that all chaplains must have.
Based on an international study group comprising researchers from Europe, United States, Canada, and Australia, this edited collection provides an overview of different charting practices and experiences in various countries and healthcare contexts. Encompassing case studies and analyses of theological, ethical, legal, healthcare policy, and practical issues, the volume is a groundbreaking reference for future discussion, research, and strategic planning for healthcare chaplains and other spiritual care providers.
Research has indicated that spiritual and religious factors are strongly tied to a host of mental health characteristics, in both positive and negative ways. That body of research has significantly grown since publication of the first edition of this book 20 years ago.
This textbook is the first to focus on comprehensive interdisciplinary care approaches aimed at enhancing the wellbeing of children with cancer and their families throughout the illness experience. Chapter 9: Easing Existential Stress in Pediatric Cancer Care focuses on spiritual care for both pediatric oncology patients and their families.
This anthology is about caring for all persons as a part of the revolutionary struggle against colonialism in its many forms. In recognition of the varied ways in which different forms of oppression, injustice, and violence in the world today are traceable to the legacy and continuing effects of colonialism, various authors have contributed to the volume from diverse backgrounds including differing ethnic identities, religious and cultural traditions, gender and sexual orientations, as well as communal and personal realities.
This innovative and sensitive guide to providing spiritual care to people with dementia features original methods drawn from the author's experiences of working with over 1,000 individuals with dementia. It provides creative new ways for chaplains to connect with patients whose spiritual needs are all too often neglected. Ranging from the author's personal experience, factual information about different kinds of dementia and the challenges of pastoral care, it provides instructions for staging a multi-sensory spiritual care intervention with patients.
Drawing on her diverse background as a clinician, scientist,educator, and chaplain, Dr. Wong presents a wealth of scientific evidence supporting that compassion is both innate and trainable. By interleaving personal experiences and reflections, she shares her insights on what it takes to cultivate compassion to support the art of medicine and caregiving. The training described in this book draws on both contemplative and scientific disciplines to help clinicians develop cognitive, attentional, affective, and somatic skills that are critical for the cultivation of compassion. With striking illustrations for key concepts and concise summaries for each chapter, this book provides a solid conceptual framework and practical approaches to cultivate compassion.
Finding Dignity at the End of Life discusses the need for palliative care as a human right and explores a whole-person methodology for use in treatment. The book examines the concept of palliative care as a holistic human right from the perspective of multiple aspects of faith, ideology, culture, and nationality. Integrating a humanities-based approach, chapters provide detailed discussions of spirituality, suffering, and healing from scholars from around the world.
Clark and Bellous provide a theoretical landscape for spiritual care practitioners. The book includes perspectives on human spirituality, worldview development, the concept of faith and an approach to encountering otherness that allows practitioners to come alongside people through the complex competency of thick listening at thin moments.
Moses chronicles the rise of disaster-related spiritual expertise in the years following the attacks of 9/11 and provides a lens through which to understand the historical dimensions of disaster-related trauma, its treatment, and the ways that therapeutic and spiritual practices imply politics.