KRS Website: Drug Information: Identification & Availability

Alberta Health Services

AHS Provincial Formulary
contains links to Former Region/Entity Formularies, as well as Inpatient Drug Costs, which are confidential and for AHS use only
Canadian Drug News

Other KRS Useful Links pages for identifying and determining availability of products Clinical Trials, Excipients, Complementary and Alternative Medicine

Drug Product Database This link opens in a new window
Health Canada. Determine drug availability in Canada; identify drugs by DIN, name, and other characteristics. Full product monographs including prescribing and consumer information, molecular formula, chemical structure, clinical studies, toxicology and more
CPS/Therapeutic Choices This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Pill Identifier Tool

Manufacturer or Company Websites

Find more information about specific products:

CPS: select “Manufacturer Directory” from Resources menu
Google: enter name of company (+ “Canada” for Canadian site) into Google search bar. Select the relevant country or region from the menu on their website.

Look for menu or link to “Product” page (product ID, package inserts) or the “Contact Us” section on their company website.

Licensed Natural Health Products Database (LNHPD)
Health Canada. Search for natural health products, and non-prescription health products (including vitamins, minerals and other OTC items)
Medical Devices Active Licence Listing (MDALL)
Search for products not found in DPD or LNHPD; some may be licensed as devices.
Special Access Program (Health Canada)
fact sheets, forms, and guidance documents for access to non-marketed drugs for practitioners treating patients with serious or life-threatening conditions when conventional therapies have failed, are unsuitable, or unavailable

Lexidrug This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Identify Canadian and foreign products. Foreign brand names may also be found through monographs in Martindale “Preparations” section (by country name) or the Lexi-Drugs monographs “Brand Names: International” section (by country code). Country abbreviations are defined in the Lexi-Drugs Description of Fields table. Drug I.D. tool available.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
See Tox & Drug Product Lookup for information on excipients and international drug availability/identification and Drug ID tab to identify products by imprint code

ATC/DDD Index
World Health Organization (WHO) Collaborating Centre for Drug Statistics Methodology. Anatomical Therapeutic Chemical (ATC)/ Defined Daily Dose (DDD) system for therapeutic class comparison, drug consumption statistics and drug utilization monitoring
Australian Register Of Therapeutic Goods
Drug Approvals and Databases
US Food and Drug Administration. Links to FDA Orange Book; Drugs@FDA; National Drug Code Directory; FDA Drug Shortages; and others
electronic Medicines Compendium (eMC)
has summaries of UK product characteristics & patient information sheets
European Medicines Agency Partners and Networks
Find other European Union (EU) and European Economic Area (EEA) Health Canada DPD equivalents
Medsafe New Zealand
medication data sheets

Drug coverage and health benefits Alberta Health
Alberta Aids to Daily Living, adult and child health benefit programs, drug and palliative care benefits, seniors benefits, benefit claims.
Federal Public Drug Benefit Programs
Access to First Nations and Inuit Health, Canadian Forces, Veterans Affairs Canada, RCMP, Royal Canadian, Citizenship and Immigration Canada, and Correctional Service Canada programs.
Health Canada Drug and health products
Interactive Drug Benefit List (iDBL)
Interactive Drug Benefit List (iDBL) - is an up-to-date searchable drug benefit list of medications that seniors can obtain through retail pharmacies.
Provincial and Territorial Public Drug Benefit Programs Health Canada

Drug Identification Chart
RCMP. Reference tool for identifying illicit drugs and their harmful effects.
National Institute of Drug Abuse
U.S. NIH information on drugs of abuse & synonyms