Skip to main content

Surgery

ERAS Guidelines & Related Research

  • Consensus Guidelines for the Management of Postoperative Nausea and Vomiting. 
    Anesth Analg. 2014 Jan;118(1):85-113. doi: 10.1213/ANE.00000000000000023. 
    Full Text
     
  • A Risk Score to Predict the Probability of Postoperative Vomiting in Adults.
    Acta Anaesthesiol Scand. 1998 May 1;42(5):495-501. DOI: 10.1001/jamasurg.2016.4952 Abstract | Request Full Text
     
  • Enhanced Recovery After Surgery: A Review.
    JAMA Surg. 2017 Mar 1;152(3):292-298. DOI: 10.1001/jamasurg.2016.4952 Abstract | Request Full Text
     
  • Enhanced Recovery After Surgery Programs Improve Patient Outcomes and Recovery: A Meta-analysis. 
    World J Surg. 2017 Apr;41(4):899-913. doi: 10.1007/s00268-016-3807-4. 
    Abstract | Request Full Text
     
  • Canadian Anesthesiologists’ Society Guidelines to the Practice of Anesthesia - Revised Edition 2019
    Can J Anaesth. 2019 Jan;66(1):75-108. doi: 10.1007/s12630-018-1248-2. Full Text

List of Alberta authors bolded

  • Bisch, S. P., Glaze, S. J., Cameron, A., Nation, J., & Nelson, G. Efficacy of TAP blocks following ovarian cancer surgery. Gynecologic Oncology. 2019 Jun; 154(Supp1). doi 10.1016/j.ygyno.2019.04.356
  • Bollag, L., & Nelson, G. Enhanced recovery after cesarean (ERAC) - beyond the pain scores. International Journal of Obstetric Anesthesia. 2020 May; doi 10.1016/j.ijoa.2020.05.006
  • Brindle, M., Nelson, G., Lobo, D. N., Ljungqvist, O., & Gustafsson, U. O. Recommendations from the ERAS® Society for standards for the development of enhanced recovery after surgery guidelines. BJS Open. 2020 Feb; 4(1): 157–163. doi: 10.1002/bjs5.50238
  • Brindle, M. E., McDiarmid, C., Short, K., Miller, K., MacRobie, A., Lam, J. Y. K., … & Nelson, G. Consensus Guidelines for Perioperative Care in Neonatal Intestinal Surgery: Enhanced Recovery After Surgery (ERAS[1]) Society Recommendations. World Journal of Surgery. 2020 May. doi: 10.1007/s00268-020-05530-1
  • Daliya P., Ljungqvist O., Brindle M.E., Lobo D.N. (2020). Guidelines for Guidelines. In: Ljungqvist O., Francis N., Urman R. (eds) Enhanced Recovery After Surgery. Springer, Cham
  • Dort J.C. (2020) ERAS in Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery. In: Ljungqvist O., Francis N., Urman R. (eds) Enhanced Recovery After Surgery. Springer, Cham
  • Franklin A.D. …Brindle, M. E., …et al. (2020). Pediatric Enhanced Recovery After Surgery. In: Ljungqvist O., Francis N., Urman R. (eds) Enhanced Recovery After Surgery. Springer, Cham
  • Gillis, C., Martin, L., Gill, M., Gilmour, L., Nelson, G., & Gramlich, L. Food Is Medicine: A Qualitative Analysis of Patient and Institutional Barriers to Successful Surgical Nutrition Practices in an Enhanced Recovery After Surgery Setting. Nutrition in Clinical Practice. 2019 Aug; 34(4). doi 10.1002/ncp.10215
  • Gramlich, L. M., Surgeoner, B.,Nelson, G., … & LaFlamme, C. Development of a clinical pathway for enhanced recovery in colorectal surgery: A Canadian collaboration. Canadian Journal of Surgery. 2020 Jan/Feb; 63(1). doi 10.1503/cjs.006819
  • Gregory, A. J. Moving forward: Lessons learned from the early returns of enhanced recovery programs. Journal of Cardiothoracic and Vascular Anesthesia. 2019 Nov; 33(11). doi 10.1053/j.jvca.2019.06.022
  • Gregory A.J., Engelman D.T., Williams J.B., Arora R.C., Boyle E.M. (2020) Cardiac Surgery ERAS. In: Ljungqvist O., Francis N., Urman R. (eds) Enhanced Recovery After Surgery. Springer, Cham
  • Huang, J., Cao, C., Nelson, G., & Wilson, R. D. A Review of Enhanced Recovery After Surgery Principles Used for Scheduled Caesarean Delivery. Journal of Obstetrics and Gynaecology Canada. 2019 Dec; 41(12); 1775-1788. doi: 10.1016/j.jogc.2018.05.043
  • Laxdal G. (2020) An Example of a Patient’s Experience in ERAS. In: Ljungqvist O., Francis N., Urman R. (eds) Enhanced Recovery After Surgery. Springer, Cham
  • Macones, G. A., Caughey, A., Wood, S.,Metcalfe, A., Gramlich, L., Nelson, G., & Wilson, R. D. Guidelines for postoperative care in cesarean delivery: Enhanced Recovery After Surgery (ERAS) Society recommendations (part 3). American Journal of Obstetrics Gynecology. 2019 Sep; 221(3). doi: 10.1016/j.ajog.2019.04.012
  • Minnella E.M., Gillis C., Edgar L., Carli F. (2020) Prehabilitation. In: Ljungqvist O., Francis N., Urman R. (eds) Enhanced Recovery After Surgery. Springer, Cham
  • Nelson G. et al. (2020). Gynecologic/Oncology Surgery. In: Ljungqvist O., Francis N., Urman R. (eds) Enhanced Recovery After Surgery. Springer, Cham
  • Temple-Oberle C., Webb C. (2020) ERAS for Breast Reconstruction. In: Ljungqvist O., Francis N., Urman R. (eds) Enhanced Recovery After Surgery. Springer, Cham
  • Wasylak T., Osiowy K., Chuck A. (2020) Enhanced Recovery After Surgery – Making the Business Case: Economics – The Alberta Experience. In: Ljungqvist O., Francis N., Urman R. (eds) Enhanced Recovery After Surgery. Springer, Cham
  • Wijk, L., …Wells, T., Gramlich, L., … & Nelson, G. International validation of Enhanced Recovery After Surgery Society guidelines on enhanced recovery for gynecologic surgery. American Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology. 2019 Sep; 221(3). doi 10.1016/j.ajog.2019.04.028
  • Wilson R.D., Huang J., Cao C., Nelson G. (2020) Enhanced Recovery After Surgery: Cesarean Delivery. In: Ljungqvist O., Francis N., Urman R. (eds) Enhanced Recovery After Surgery. Springer, Cham
  • Moving enhanced recovery after surgery from implementation to sustainability across a health system: a qualitative assessment of leadership perspectives
    Leah Gramlich, Gregg Nelson , Alison Nelson , Laura Lagendyk , Loreen E. Gilmour and Tracy Wasylak
    BMC Health Serv Res 20, 361 April 2020  Full Text
     
  • Improving quality, safety and access to surgical care in Alberta
    Sanjay Beeson, Jill Robert, Jonathan White
    CMAJ, 191(Suppl), December 2019  Full Text
     
  • Embracing Change - The Time for Pediatric Enhanced Recovery After Surgery Is Now
    Rove KO, Brockel MA, Brindle ME, Scott MJ, Herndon A, Ljungqvist O, Koylye MA
    Journal of Pediatric Urology, 15(5), October 2019  Abstract | Request
     
  • Embracing Change -  The Era for Pediatric ERAS is here.
    Brindle ME
    , Heiss K, Scott MJ, Herndon AC, Ljungqvist O, Koyle M
    Pediatric Surgery International, 35(6), June 2019  Full Text
     
  • Optimizing Post-Operative Follow-up in Pediatric Surgery (OFIPS)
    Gimon T*, Almosallam O*, Lopushinsky S, Brindle M, Yanchar NL
    Journal of Pediatric Surgery, 54(5), May 2019  Abstract | Request
     
  • Impact of Nutrition on Enhanced Recovery After Surgery (ERAS) in Gynecologic Oncology 
    Bisch S, Nelson G, Altman A
    Nutrients, 11(5), May 2019  Full Text
     
  • Guidelines for perioperative care in gynecologic/oncology: Enhanced Recovery After Surgery (ERAS) Society recommendations - 2019 update 
    Nelson G, Bakkum-Gamez J. Kalogera E et al. 
    International Journal of Gynecological Cancer, 29(4), May 2019  Full Text
     
  • Guidelines for Perioperative Care in Cardiac Surgery: Enhanced Recovery After Surgery Society Recommendations
    Engelman D, Ben Ali W, Williams JB, Perrault LP, Reddy VS, Arora R, Roselli EE, Khoynezad A, Gerdish M, Levy JH, Lobdell K, Fletcher N, Kirsch M, Nelson G, Engelman R, Gregory AJ, Boyle EM.  
    JAMA Surgery, 154(8), May 2019  Full Text
     
  • Enhanced recovery after surgery: implementing a new standard of surgical care
    Altman AD, Helpman L, McGee J Samouëlian V, Auclair MH, Harinder BH, Nelson G, and Soc Gynecologic Oncology Canada
    Canadian Medical Association Journal, 191(17), April 2019  Full Text
     
  • Clinical pharmacist perspectives for optimizing pharmacotherapy within Enhanced Recovery After Surgery (ERAS) programs
    Lovely JK Hyland SJ, Smith AN, Nelson G, Ljungqvist O, Parrish RH
    International Journal of Surgery, 63, March 2019  Abstract | Request
     
  • Implementation of an Enhanced Recovery After Surgery Program Can Change Nutrition Care Practice: A Multicenter Experience in Elective Colorectal Surgery
    Martin L, Gillis C, Atkins M, Gillam M, Sheppard C, Buhler S, Hammond CB, Nelson G, Gramlich L
    Journal of Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition, 43(2), February 2019  Full Text
     
  • Creation of an Enhanced Recovery After Surgery (ERAS) Guideline for neonatal intestinal surgery patients: a knowledge synthesis and consensus generation approach and protocol study 
    Gibb ACN, Crosby MA, McDiarmid C, Urban D, Lam JYK, Wales PW, Brockel M, Raval M, Offringa M, Skarsgard ED, Wester T, Wong K, de Beer D, Nelson G, Brindle ME
    BMJ Open, 8(12), December 2018  Full Text
     
  • Enhanced Recovery for Cardiac Surgery
    Noss C, Prusinkiewicz C, Nelson G, Patel P, Augoustides JG, Gregory A
    Journal of Cardiothoracic and Vascular Anesthesia, 32(6), December 2018  Abstract | Request
  • Surgical technical evidence review for gynecologic surgery conducted for the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality Safety Program for Improving Surgical Care and Recovery
    Kalogera E, Nelson G, Liu J, Hu QL, Ko CY, Wick E, Dowdy SC. 
    American Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology, 219(6), December 2018  Full Text
     
  • Guidelines for Antenatal and Preoperative care in Cesarean Delivery: Enhanced Recovery After Surgery Society Recommendations (Part 1)
    Wilson RD, Caughey AB, Wood SL, Macones GA, Wrench IJ, Huang J, Norman M, Pettersson K, Fawcett WJ, Shalabi MM, Metcalfe A, Gramlich L, Nelson G
    American Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology, 219(6), December 2018  Full Text

 

  • Enhanced Recovery After Surgery (ERAS) in gynecologic oncology: System-wide implementation and audit leads to improved value and patient outcomes. 
    Bisch SP, Wells T, Gramlich L, Faris P, Wang X, Tran DT, Thanh NX, Glaze S, Chu P, Ghatage P, Nation J, Capstick V, Steed H, Sabourin J, Nelson G.
    Gynecol Oncol, 151(1), October 2018  Abstract | Request Full Text
     
  • The Impact of the Implementation of the Enhanced Recovery After Surgery (ERAS) Program in an Entire Health System: A Natural Experiment in Alberta, Canada
    AlBalawi Z, Gramlich L, Nelson G, Senior P, Youngson E, McAlister FA.
    World Journal of Surgery, 42(9), September 2018  Full Text
     
  • Reducing morbidity and complications after major head and neck cancer surgery: the (future) role of enhanced recovery after surgery protocols.
    Huber GF, Dort JC. 
    Current Opinion Otolaryngology Head Neck Surgery, 26(2), April 2018  Full Text
     
  • Enhanced recovery after surgery (ERAS) in gynecologic oncology - Practical considerations for program development.
    Nelson G, Dowdy SC, Lasala, J et al. 
    Gynecologic Oncology, 147(3), December 2017  Full Text
     
  • ERAS Value based surgery
    Ljungqvist O, Thanh, NX, Nelson G.
    Journal of Surgical Oncology, 116 (5), October 2017  Abstract | Request
     
  • Enhanced recovery in gynecologic oncology - A sea change in perioperative management
    Dowdy SC, Nelson G. 
    Gynecologic Oncology, 146 (92), August 2017  Abstract | Request
     
  • Protein intakes are associated with reduced length of stay: a comparison between enhanced recovery after surgery (ERAS) and conventional care after elective colorectal surgery.
    Yeung SE, Hilkewich L, Gillis C, Heine JA, Fenton TR
    Am J Clin Nutr, 106(1), July 2017. Abstract | Request Full Text
     
  • Patients as partners in Enhanced Recovery After Surgery: A qualitative patient-led study
    Gillis C, Gill M, Marlett N, MacKean G, GermAnn K, Gilmour L, Nelson G, Wasylak T, Nguyen S, Araujo E, Zelinsky S, Gramlich L. 
    BMJ Open, 7(6), June 2017  Full Text
     
  • Consensus Review of Optimal Perioperative Care in Breast Reconstruction: Enhanced Recovery after Surgery (ERAS) Society Recommendations
    Temple-Oberle C,
     Shea-Budgell, MA, Tan M, Semple JL, Schrag C, Barreto M, Blondeel P, Hamming J, Dayan J, Ljungqvist O.
    Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, 139 (5), May 2017  Full Text
     
  • Implementation of Enhanced Recovery After Surgery: a strategy to transform surgical care across a health system.
    Gramlich LM, Sheppard CE, Wasylak T, Gilmour LE, Ljungqvist O, Basualdo-Hammond C, Nelson G.
    Implement Sci, 12(1), May 2017 Full Text
     
  • Optimal Perioperative Care in Major Head and Neck Cancer Surgery with Free Flap Reconstruction: A Consensus Review and Recommendations From the Enhanced Recovery After Surgery Society. 
    Dort JC, Farwell DG, Findlay M, et al.
    JAMA Otolaryngol Head Neck Surg, 143(3), March 2017 Full Text
     
  • An economic evaluation of the Enhanced Recovery After Surgery (ERAS) multisite implementation program for colorectal surgery in Alberta
    Thanh NX, Chuck AW, Wasylak T, Lawrence J, Faris P, Ljungqvist O, Nelson G, Gramlich LM.
    Can J Surg, 59(6), Dec 2016 Full Text
     
  • Implementation of Enhanced Recovery After Surgery (ERAS) Across a Provincial Healthcare System: The ERAS Alberta Colorectal Surgery Experience.
    Nelson G, Kiyang LN, Crumley ET, Chuck A,
    Nguyen T, Faris P, Wasylak T, Basualdo-Hammond C, McKay S, Ljungqvist O, Gramlich LM.
    World J Surg, 40(5), May 2016 Full Text