This book is an attempt to collect evidence and related clinical information of application of Nutraceuticals to be used in cancer treatment or compliment the cancer treatment. It covers efficacy, safety and toxicological aspects of nutraceuticals as well as addressing various novel drug delivery systems of nutraceuticals with anticancer properties, as well as nutraceuticals as supplements for cancer prevention.
Developed by the American Cancer Society this new textbook designed for a wide range of learners and practitioners is a comprehensive reference covering the diagnosis of cancer, and a range of related issues that are key to a multidisciplinary approach to cancer and critical to cancer control and may be used in conjunction with the book, The American Cancer Society's Oncology in Practice: Clinical Management.
Since its initial publication in 1982, CANCER EPIDEMIOLOGY AND PREVENTION has served as the premier reference work for students and professionals working to understand the causes and prevention of cancer in humans.
For each of the diverse spectrum of cancers encountered in the AYA group, the epidemiology, natural progression, diagnostic approaches, and treatment options are described, with special emphasis on strategies for early detection and prevention. Comparison is made with management of both younger and older patients, and model programs are presented that address common diagnostic, staging, treatment, and psychosocial shortcomings in the AYA group.
Cancer Nursing: Principles and Practice, Eighth Edition continues as the gold standard in oncology nursing. With contributions from the foremost experts in the field, it has remained the definitive reference on the rapidly changing science and practice of oncology nursing for more than 25 years.
This completely revised second edition of the gold-standard reference on cancer rehabilitation provides a state-of-the-art overview of the principles of cancer care and best practices for restoring function and quality of life to cancer survivors.
Co-edited and written by an interdisciplinary team of experts in oncology and cardiology, this book is a clinically useful resource on these overlapping topics: Cardiac complications in patients receiving cancer therapy, The treatment of cancer in patients with cardiovascular disease, The treatment of cardiovascular disease in patients with cancer.
The handbook covers the spectrum of gynecologic oncology from seminal studies to guide the oncologist, to the essential workup for the Obstetrician/Gynecologist and related clinician. It includes necessary details on gynecologic cancer screening and treatment regimens for preinvasive disease, to staging and management of all the gynecologic cancers such as cervical cancer, ovarian cancer, uterine cancer, vulvar cancer, vaginal cancer, and gestational trophoblastic disease.
This book presents the full range of management techniques and practices used in induction chemotherapy - both systemic and locoregional - by experienced international groups within one accessible volume. It provides the latest information on the pioneering and cutting-edge practices employed in different institutions and documents the advantages of integrated treatment schedules.
The MD Anderson Manual of Medical Oncology details the personalized multidisciplinary approach to cancer management and treatment of common and rare cancers pioneered by The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center.
Divided into six sections this book provides the necessary background and expert guidance from the principles governing oncology clinical trials to the innovative statistical design methods permeating the field; from conducting trials in a safe and effective manner, analyzing and interpreting the data, to a forward-looking assessment and discussion of regulatory issues impacting domestic, international, and global clinical trials.
Written by an international team of authors the Oxford Textbook of Communication in Oncology and Palliative Care integrates clinical wisdom with empirical findings. An essential resource, the Oxford Textbook of Communication in Oncology and Palliative Care is filled with tips and strategies for effective communication about difficult and challenging communication.
Pancreatic cancer is a very aggressive carcinoma with a poor prognosis. The high mortality rate of pancreatic cancer is related to the advanced stage of disease at the time of diagnosis. However, it is extraordinarily difficult to make an early diagnosis of pancreatic adenocarcinoma based on clinical signs and symptoms only. Due to the nonspecific characteristics of the early symptoms and their insidious nature, pancreatic cancer is often mistaken for other diseases.This book reviews important literature about pancreatic cancer.
The Patient's Guide to Lung Cancer provides an overview of lung cancer, causes, treatment options and information about living with lung cancer throughout the patient journey. Includes interactive functions, links to informative videos with lung cancer specialists, and provides questions to ask your cancer care team that can help you to make treatment decisions and self-advocate.
This pocket book explains the significant and well-documented impact that PET/CT can have on the management of prostate cancer through the provision of high-quality evidence regarding function and structure.
Provides nurses with the latest details and procedures needed to keep safe in the workplace. Includes new chapters on post-administration issues, linen handling, disposal of hazardous drugs and hazardous drug waste, and the hazardous drug handling policy landscape.
This book, written by respected experts, discusses in detail the latest developments in targeted oncology therapy using small molecules. It covers a wide range of small molecules, including tyrosine kinase inhibitors, mTOR, MEK, PARP, and multikinase inhibitors, as well as cell cycle and NTRK interacting agents.
This guide provides practical information that will assist clinicians involved in the diagnosis, assessment, treatment, and follow-up care of patients with triple-negative breast cancer. All healthcare professionals who care for patients with triple-negative breast cancer will find the book to be an invaluable source of expert advice on the issues faced in real-world practice.
Used by physicians and health care professionals throughout the world to facilitate the uniform description and reporting of neoplastic diseases. The Eighth Edition AJCC Cancer Staging Manual brings together all the currently available knowledge on staging of cancer at various anatomic sites.
The Bethesda Handbook of Clinical Oncology is a clear, concise and comprehensive reference book for the busy clinician to use in his or her daily patient encounters. It focuses less on etiology, pathophysiology, and epidemiology, and considerably more on practical clinical information.
This new edition of the Chemotherapy and Biotherapy Guidelines and Recommendations for Practice has been revised and updated to reflect the current procedures and practices in your specialty. You'll find that this latest edition incorporates a number of significant changes.
DeVita, Hellman, and Rosenberg's Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology, 10th edition has garnered universal acclaim as the world's definitive, standard-setting oncology reference. More than 400 respected luminaries explore today's most effective strategies for managing every type of cancer by stage of presentation - discussing the role of all appropriate therapeutic modalities as well as combined-modality treatments.
More and more people living with and beyond cancer seek integrative interventions to complement their conventional cancer care. Integrative medicine is defined as healing-oriented medicine that takes account of the whole person (body, mind, and spirit) as well as all aspects of lifestyle; it emphasizes the therapeutic relationship and makes use of appropriate therapies, both conventional and alternative.
The 6th edition of the Intelligent Patient Guide to Breast Cancer has been fully revised and updated. It reflects the significant advances in breast cancer diagnosis and management that have occurred in the past few years, including advances in screening and assessing risk, diagnostic tools, surgery and reconstructive surgery, endocrine therapy, chemotherapy, radiation therapy, rehabilitation, complementary and alternative treatments, and research discoveries including inherited breast cancer and genetic testing.
This pocket book is an up-to-date guide to the diagnostic imaging of head and neck cancers. The focus is particularly on FDG PET/CT, with coverage of the basic principles, clinical indications, typical and atypical appearances, normal variations and artifacts, advantages, limitations, and pitfalls.
Psycho-Oncology has been thoroughly updated and developed in collaboration with the American Psychosocial Society and the International Psycho-oncology Society, the third edition is a current, comprehensive reference for psychiatrists, psychologists,oncologists, hospice workers, and social workers seeking to understand and manage the psychological issues involved in the care of persons with cancer and the psychological, social, and behavioral factors that contribute to cancer risk and survival.
Created by leading psychologists specializing in oncology, theMindfulness-Based Cancer Recovery program is based on mindfulness-based stress reduction (MBSR), a therapeutic combination of mindfulness meditation and gentle yoga now offered to cancer survivors and their loved ones in hundreds of medical centers, hospitals, and clinics worldwide.