Skip to Main Content

Point of Care Resources: Learn about Lippincott Procedures

What is Lippincott Procedures?

Lippincott Procedures is AHS’s primary evidence-based procedures reference, providing access to step-by-step guides for over 1,800 procedures and skills for a wide variety of nursing practice areas.

Want to learn a bit more about Lippincott Procedures? Register to join KRS in one of our regularly scheduled sessions.

LWW Resources

Need more help?

KRS staff are able to troubleshoot issues and answer any questions you may have when setting up alerts. 

Contact your KRS site or email and we'll be happy to assist you!

Practice Note

Lippincott Procedures is an AHS & Covenant Health endorsed resource for evidence-based practice information. It should be used in consideration of your clinical experience, context-specific information & clinical data, organizational policies, and other organizational references.

If you have questions about using Lippincott Procedures in your practice please contact:

Which to Use?

What is the difference between Advisor and Procedures?

Lippincott Advisor provides evidence-based information about diseases, conditions, signs and symptoms, diagnostic tests, and treatments;

Lippincott Procedures focuses on how to perform clinical procedures.

Both Lippincott Procedures and Lippincott Advisor are approved and encouraged for use at AHS.

 

How to Access Lippincott Procedures

Access anytime, anywhere!

Lippincott Procedures can be accessed directly (krs.ahs.ca/procedures) or from our popular resources list on our homepage. For easy access, we encourage you to bookmark this site in your web browser, create a desktop shortcut, or download the free app. Most AHS computers will have the desktop shortcut already in place. These links will work outside the AHS network (e.g. on your home computer, off-site), and you'll be prompted to log in with your existing AHS/COV credentials. You'll also find it directly integrated into Connect Care.

Users' Guide to Lippincott Procedures

Lippincott Procedures provides:

  • Detailed descriptions of over 1,700 procedures and skills in nursing, physical therapy and respiratory therapy,
  • Complete instructions to perform a skills or procedure including: equipment, preparation guidelines, implementation steps, special considerations, patient teaching information, documentation, and references,
  • Video clips and images to clarify complex procedures, and
  • Quick lists provide a quick, less-detailed version of a procedure when only an overview is needed. 

Hover over the hotspots below to learn more about how to use Lippincott Procedures:

 

Tip! Scroll down to the Related Procedures section to quickly bring up a list of shortcut links to other procedures.

Searching Tips

General Search
  If a query is entered without any of the specified keywords in the sections below, each word within the query is searched. The results are sorted by entities that contain the most or any of these words.
  Example:
 
  • cancer patient care — will search for documents that include cancer, patient, and care

You will see your search terms highlighted in the results. Press Ctrl + F to find specific terms on a page.
Wildcard Search
  To search for parts of words, add an asterisk (*) before the first character, after the last character, or at both ends.
  Examples:
 
  • trach* — will search for words that start with trach
  • *vascular — will search for words that end with vascular
  • *momano* — will search for words that start with, end with, or contain momano
Exact Phrase
  To search for an exact phrase, surround the query with quotes.
  Example:
 
  • "blood pressure" — will search for this phrase only.
Boolean Search
  To limit or expand a search, you can combine words and phrases using "and," "or," "not," or "w/."
  Examples:
 
  • "urine collection" and child — will search for documents that include the phrase urine collection AND the word child
  • "urine collection" or child — will search for documents that include the phrase urine collection OR the word child
  • catheter and not child — will search for documents that contain the word catheter but do not contain the word child
  • urine w/5 collection — will search for documents that contain the word collection within 5 words of the word urine

Quick Links

Get in Touch

Terms of Use | Privacy Policy
Copyright © Alberta Health Services