Use Read anywhere! On the web or download the app for iOS and Android by searching for QXMD in your app store.
Read helps curate a personalized feed of the latest and most read research based on your preferences pulled from a variety of journal sources. You can also select specific journals and keywords (or topic collections) to follow, search PubMed, and save papers.
Once you sign-up for Read, the app's algorithm will personalize a featured feed of recommended articles for you based on what your account settings about yourself (profession, specialization), your Read history, and what other professionals in your discipline are reading. The more content that you interact with, the better the recommendations will be on this featured feed. Note that very widely read, but quite dated articles may also sometimes appear in this feed, so be mindful of the publication dates shown at the bottom of each article card.
Never miss an issue of your favourite journal with the My Journals list. Use the Edit link (top right) to add any journal to your list. Access to full text should be seamless when you've added Alberta Health Services as your institution. In cases where we do not license the article, you'll get a message that says PDF Not Found, Tap Here for Options. Select Request a Copy and we'll be sent your article request directly to provide as part of regular article delivery service at no cost to you.
Collections are custom-made by Read (e.g. Most Read), other Read users, institutions (e.g. libraries), and publishers. In addition, if you have your notifications on, you will get sent weekly emails of any new content in your collections. Scroll to the bottom of this guide to see the list of available collections.
If you are looking for something specific, perhaps a new treatment, medication, or condition, you might benefit from adding it to your Read app via the Keywords functionality. Easier than developing a full search strategy for a search alert, these keywords searches are a quick and easy way to get updates on the newest literature that match your interests.
Easy to reference later on, all your viewed papers are available in one spot in the app. You can add any of these papers to your private collection or share them in public collections to distribute to colleagues.
Not only does Read support key features to keep you current, but it also provides a simplified interface to search PubMed for researching topics on the go. This is also a handy spot to quickly access a paper that was mentioned by a colleague by simply searching for a title or PubMed ID.
Download Read by QxMD by searching for ‘QxMD’ in your app store. A web version is also available at https://readbyqxmd.com
Once you've downloaded the mobile app and created a personal account for Read, follow the instructions below to connect to our institution.
By setting your demographics in your profile and highlighting your favourite journals, articles in your feed will always reflect what’s most important to you.
To follow a Collection, you can click on any of the links below on a mobile device, which will open up Read. You can then choose to follow the Collection using the Follow banner at the bottom of the app to get the latest top articles recommended to you every week.
Trending Papers in 'Read by QxMD'
Most Read Papers in:
You can also open the Read app and select the search icon, select Collections and type in any topic above. Click the follow banner to add these to your collection.