To keep you updated on the go, our ‘app of the month’ highlights one free informational app every month!
Our complete grading criteria for evidence and usability are embedded in the review.
Please note that the reviewers are not healthcare professionals, and so cannot appraise the quality of any recommendations within the app. The reviews are not endorsements.
View the AHS policy on Mobile Wireless Devices and Services.
Image Source: Nursing Dictionary, Apple App Store. Retrieved on September 28, 2021 from: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/nursing-dictionary-by-farlex/id1021594421
Stated Purpose
“Nursing Dictionary by Farlex is a medical dictionary app specifically for nurses. Whether you're a nurse, nursing student, or looking to learn more about healthcare and treatment, this free nursing dictionary app can help you find clear, in-depth definitions of medical terminology.”
This app is an aggregator, but not clear on the rules/methods for aggregation – notes that they work with publishers, but no more information than that.
There is also point of care overviews – e.g. under Stroke entry is Diagnosis, Treatment etc.
There is patient forums from iMedex Forum.
Features
Screenshots
Image Source: Nursing Dictionary, Apple App Store. Retrieved on September 30, 2021 from: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/nursing-dictionary-by-farlex/id1021594421
Nurses and nursing students
Notes
None
Part 1: Editorial committee, content updates, and evidence grading
This dictionary app is an aggregator. The entries had dates associated with each source, but there is no date for when the resources were last updated. There is also no methodology for aggregation.
Part 2: Source and authorship information for 3 entries
Citations are provided, but you would have to track down the full text. Some entries include a patient discussion section where the content is provided by iMedix and is subject to iMedix Terms. The Questions and Answers are not endorsed or recommended and are made available by patients, not doctors.
Organization of information
Not much for organization, but definitions generally seemed to be first in the search results.
Navigation
Extras
User Account require: No
Internet connection required for use: Yes
Text search field: Yes
Browsable content: No
Advertisements: Yes
Pop-up advertisements: Yes
In-app purchases: Yes
Devices
Compatible with Phone, iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch & Mac compatible
Requires iOS 13.0 or later. Requires macOS 11.0 or later and a Mac with Apple M1 chip. https://apps.apple.com/us/app/nursing-dictionary-by-farlex/id1021594421
Last updated (as per App store listing): Jan 6, 2021
Compatible with Android smartphones and tablets. OS compatibility 5.0 and up. https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.farlex.dictionary.nursing&hl=en_CA&gl=US
Last updated (as per Google Play listing): Sept 16 2021
Size
57.3 MB (iOS); 28 M (Android)
Farlex, Inc.
Country of Origin
United States
Farlex, Inc.
Support@tfd.com
http://farlex.com
